Red Scrolls and Devouring Gray

In my first YA Hits of 2019 post I wrote about two excellent debuts. In this post, I welcome the return of one of the most-loved authors in YA, Cassandra Clare.

The Red Scrolls of Magic, by Cassandra Clare and Wesley ChuThe Red Scrolls of Magic — Cassandra Clare & Wesley Chu

Cassandra Clare is a household name for YA fans, and her new book was always going to be on my list. In The Red Scrolls of Magic, Clare bring us back to the world of the Mortal Instruments series and the very beginning of her Shadowhunters world. We rejoin Alec and Magnus, two fan favourites from the original series, as Magnus takes his boyfriend on holiday in Europe. Their fun is cut short by the wrongdoings of a demon-worshipping cult that may or may not have been founded back in the day by Magnus himself. The two must fight to protect the world from these villains and clear Magnus’s name, while working on their still-young relationship and trying to enjoy what Europe has to offer. With cameos from other well-loved Shadowhunters characters, The Red Scrolls of Magic sets the scene for a whole new series. This is the kind of wild adventure story that only Cassandra Clare can create.

The Devouring Gray — Christine Lynn Herman

When she moves back to her mother’s hometown, deep in the woodlands of rural New York state, Violet finds herself in a world beyond her experience. The town of Four Paths is home to ancient beasts, alternate dimensions, magical powers, and founding families. Violet must join with the other children of the founding families to save the town, while coping with the dramas of teenage life. Reminiscent of Maggie Stiefvater and the elusive fabulism of her Raven Boys, this has enough ambiguity to keep you reading to the end. This eerie, atmospheric read hit all the right marks for me: characters that come alive, a unique setting, and wonderful writing. Already one of my all-time faves, this is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

Gabriela is a 21 year old who spends as much of her free time around books as she does at work. A lover of YA and all things magical since a young age, she never quite grew out of it. She can often be found diving into the most exciting new titles. Her motto is the witchier, the better.

Leave a Reply

Site Footer

Sliding Sidebar